top of page

Montreal free history walking tour



Urban Landscapes 01 Jeanne Mance, Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve and the birthplace of Montréal 07 Blanche Lemco van Ginkel and the survival of Old Montréal Architect and pioneer Blanche Lemco van Ginkel was actively involved in the preservation of the historic site of Old Montréal. In fact, it was thanks to her efforts that Autoroute Ville-Marie was not built on Rue de la Commune. 08 The commissioners’ plan and Rue McGill In 1799, Parliament introduced a resolution to demolish the fortifica- tions surrounding the city, since Montréal was no longer a military post. They then mandated commis- sioners to establish a city plan. 09 The cobblestones of Old Montréal In Old Montréal, the sound of horses trotting on cobblestone streets trans- ports us to a bygone era. However, it should be noted that the streets in that neighbourhood were not always paved with cobblestone 10 Place D’Youville and the Monument aux pionniers Montréal’s first public square During a short stopover in the St. Lawrence Valley in 1611, Samuel de Champlain chose a campsite on the shores of the St. Lawrence River, cleared the trees, and founded Place Royale. 24 Historical winter activities on the river’s ice z In the 19th century, when winter arrived, the St. Lawrence River would transform into a giant playground for Montrealers. 25 Working conditions and labour strikes by canal and port workers and longshoremen The Old Port and the Lachine Canal are now tourism and recreation centres. But it wasn’t long ago that people worked very hard at these locations. 26 Marguerite d’Youville and the Grey Nuns of Montréal In 1737, a young widow and her com- panions took a secret vow to care for the poor. Thus, Marguerite d’Youville founded the Sisters of Charity of Montréal, also called the Grey Nuns. 27 Fire at the Parliament and the Rebellion Losses Bill In 1843, the Parliament of the Province of Canada moved from Kingston to Montréal. It was located in the former Sainte-Anne market building built in 1832 at Place D’Youville, and would become the stage for violent riots. 28 The Great Peace of Montréal The fur trade was flourishing in New France in the 17th century. But before the Great Peace of 1701, it would also be the cause of violent conflicts between the Amerindian nations and European colonists. 29 The buildings and career of businessman Jesse Joseph Businessman and consul Jesse Joseph, considered as one of the founders of Canada’s merchant marine, was also one of the most renowned real estate developers of Old Montréal in the 19th century. Inaugurated in 1847, Saint Patrick’s Basilica is the oldest English-speaking Roman Catholic church in the city. It is the main symbol and religious masterpiece of the Irish community. 68 Paper Hill, the press district Nestled between Rue Saint-Antoine, Boulevard René-Lévesque Ouest, Côte du Beaver Hall and Rue Bleury, Paper Hill was once an collection of buildings related to the printing industry. 69 The Henry Birks stores In 1894, Henry Birks and Sons left Rue Saint-Jacques and inaugurated the largest jewellery store in North America in Square Phillips. 70 Former urinals Urinals (public toilets) were installed in several Montréal squares during the 1930s in the context of the economic crisis and “unemployment work” started by then Montréal Mayor Camillien Houde. 71 Christ Church Cathedral Entourage Guimard, 1967 Hector Guimard Architectural element (cast iron, Comblanchien stone) Société de transport de Montréal public art collection Square-Victoria–OACI métro entrance 91 Taichi single whip, Ju Ming It was at the junction of the Petite rivière Saint-Pierre and the St. Lawrence River that Jeanne Mance and Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve founded Montréal in 1642. However, they were not the first ones there! 02 The former Rivière Saint-Pierre and the William Collector At the beginning of the 19th century, the Rivière Saint-Pierre was no longer the waterway that Samuel de Champlain had favourably described in his writings. It was an open sewer, a true conduit for epidemics. 03 Pointe-à-Callière and Fort Ville-Marie Pointe-à-Callière, as indicated by its name, was, at the time, a perfect spit of land for boats to dock. 04 The Lachine Canal and the locks With the opening of the Lachine Canal in 1825, ships could now bypass the rapids bearing the same name, which transformed Montréal into a hub of industrial development in North America. 05 The creation of the Old Port Square Phillips and Square Beaver Hall, derived from the Phillips plan for the establishment of New Town, contributed to the development of the city and demonstrated the alliance between the public and private sectors. 17 The prestigious Rue Sherbrooke and the Roddick Gates In the early 1860s, several large and opulent homes were built on Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, contributing to the street’s prestigious status. 18 The creation of a view of Avenue McGill College Many projects and debates in the 1980s created a new heritage awareness, one which showcased and protected a view of Mount Royal from downtown. 19 The “American-style” campus of McGill University The McGill University campus is enhanced by the landscape scenery of its main entrance, its wooded promenades and its predominantly Victorian architecture. 20 The McTavish reservoir and pumping station What looks like a castle straight out of the Renaissance is in reality a modern engineering work: a drinking water pumping station and its reservoir. 21 The emergence of the concept of “window on the river” and “view of Mount Royal” True icons of Montreal’s landscape, the St. Lawrence River and Mount Royal have been showcased since the 1980s through land development projects and a new urban planning by-law. John Young (1811–1873) was a businessman and president of the Montréal Harbour Commission. In 1853, he acquired land bordered by the streets McGill, William and Gray Nun to build a few warehouse stores. 62 The narrow restaurant on Rue McGill The narrow building on 444 Rue McGill arouses curiosity. Built in 1955 on a thin strip of land along Rue Saint-Maurice, it has always housed a restaurant. 63 The modernism of the former Toronto-Dominion Bank building The Toronto-Dominion Bank building (500 Rue Saint-Jacques Ouest) with its international style, it illustrated the architectural transition between the classicism of older bank buildings and the modernism of office towers. 64 The World Trade Centre Montréal and the Ruelle des Fortifications Built between 1988 and 1991, the World Trade Centre Montréal (747 Square Victoria) is a unique real estate project which combines heritage and contemporary architecture. 65 Édifice Jacques-Parizeau – Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec The Édifice Jacques-Parizeau (1000 Place Jean-Paul-Riopelle), home to the Caisse de dépôt et placement Québec, is a true icon of Montréal’s contemporary architecture and a major financial hub in Québec. 66 Bell Telephone headquarters La peur, 1993 Gilles Mihalcean Installation (aluminum, steel, granite, limestone, marble, sandstone) Centre d’histoire de Montréal Montréal public art collection 306 Place D’Youville, Montréal, QC H2Y 2B6 86 Monument à John Young, Louis-Philippe Hébert Taichi single whip, 1985 Ju Ming Private collection Square Victoria, near Avenue Viger 92 June, Geneviève Cadieux June, 2003 Geneviève Cadieux Photography Property of Ivanhoé Cambridge Édifice Jacques-Parizeau, terrace leading to Rue Hermine and Rue Saint-Antoine Ouest 93 La Joute, Jean-Paul Riopelle La Joute, 1969–1970 Jean-Paul Riopelle Sculpture (bronze) Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal collection Quartier international de Montréal, Place Jean-Paul-Riopelle Mist, light and circle of fire: from mid-May to mid-October 94 Monument au frère André, Émile Brunet Monument à John F. Kennedy, 1986 Paul Lancz Sculpture (bronze, granite) Montréal public art collection Intersection of Avenue du Président- Kennedy and Avenue McGill College 100 La Foule illuminée, Raymond Mason La Foule illuminée, 1986 Raymond Mason Sculpture Property of Industrielle Alliance Financial Group In front of Tour BNP Paribas, on esplanade McGill 1981 Avenue McGill College, Montréal, QC H3A 3A8 101 Totem urbain / Histoire en dentelles, Pierre Granche Totem urbain / Histoire en dentelles, 1992 Pierre Granche Sculpture (aluminum, brass, glass, limestone, silicone) McCord Museum 2175 Rue Victoria, Montréal, QC H3A 2A3 102 Inukshuk, Jusipi Nalukturuk Inukshuk, 1992 Jusipi Nalukturuk Sculpture (stone, cement) McCord Museum 690 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montréal, QC H3A 1E9 103 Le Joyau royal et le Mile doré, Philippe Allard et Justin Duchesneau Le Joyau royal et le Mile doré, 2017 Philippe Allard et Justin Duchesneau Sculpture (granite Péribonka, brass and translucent concrete) At the corner of Rue Sherbrooke Ouest and Rue McTavish Promenade Fleuve- Montagne (River-Mountain Walkway) 104 Public artworks on the McGill Campus The Promenade Fleuve-Montagne is a 3.8 km pedestrian walkway that offers Montrealers and visitors the chance to discover Montréal’s emblematic sites. of the 20 century, it became a destination of choice for shopping. In the first half of the 20 century, Square Phillips hosted several celebrations and events commem- orating Canadian participation in the two world wars. 50 Place D’Youville is located along the former Petite rivière Saint-Pierre, in the axis of Fort Ville-Marie. For a long time, this informal area hosted public markets and the parliament of Canada. 11 The fortifications and the door of the Récollets Between 1685 and 1804, Montréal was surrounded by fortifications first made of wood, then stone. Their dismantling at the beginning of the 19th century promoted the develop- ment of the city. 12 The harbour commission and the great flood of 1886 The Montréal Harbour Commission was established in 1830. The first improve- ments made to the port started with the construction of masonry docks. The great flood of 1886 contributed to the modernization of the port. 13 The picturesque climb of Côte du Beaver Hall and the terraces between the river and mountain At the beginning of the 19th century, people reached Vauxhall, a popular recreation area, by taking the picturesque climb on the south side of Mount Royal. Frobisher Street (Côte du Beaver Hall) was among the first streets to be built up the mountainside. At the end of the 18 Simon McTavish ran the North West Company and was the most prom- inent Montréal merchant at that time. He, along with a few associates and other notables, established themselves in the area that became New Town (current downtown area). The Anglican Christ Church Cathedral (635 Rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest) is home to the oldest English-speaking congregation in Montréal and offers a remarkable example of ornamented neo-Gothic architecture. 72 The city in the 1920s In the 1920s and 1930s, Côte du Beaver Hall and Square Phillips became a prestigious hub testifying to Montréal’s status as a North American metropolis. 73 Crystal Palace of Montréal The Crystal Palace of Montréal, an exhibition hall inspired by the one in London, was the work of architect John Williams Hopkins. It was inaugu- rated by the Prince of Wales in 1860 in the heart of the New Town. Monument à John Young, 1911 Louis-Philippe Hébert Sculpture (bronze, granite) Montréal public art collection 335 Rue de la Commune Ouest, Montréal, QC H2Y 2E2 87 Nadia ou le saut du tremplin, Marcel Barbeau Nadia ou le saut du tremplin, 1976 Marcel Barbeau Sculpture (aluminum, acrylic) Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal collection Promenade du Vieux-Port Rue Saint-Pierre at the corner of Rue de la Commune Ouest 88 Choral, Maria José Sheriff Choral, 2006 Maria José Sheriff Sculpture (aluminum) Fonderie Darling 745 Rue Ottawa, Montréal, QC H3C 1R8 89 Monument à la reine Victoria, Marshall Wood century, The creation of the Old Port is a legacy of Montréal’s 350th anniversary. This large urban park, rooted in the history of area, was born of the public’s desire to reclaim the river. 06 Rue de la Commune and the transformation of natural riverbanks In 1651, Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve conceded a strip of land along the river to Jean de Saint-Père, which was then used for grazing animals. This is where Rue de la Commune is located today. Grain Silo no. 5 and the grain transfers system Built at the very beginning of the 20th century on the artificial pier at Pointe-du-Moulin, Grain Silo No. 5 stored grain that arrived by rail and barges before loading them on transatlantic ships. In 1929, the Bell Telephone company built its new headquarters on Côte du Beaver Hall. The building became the new landmark between the old and new towns. Monument au frère André, 1986 Émile Brunet Sculpture (bronze, granite) Montréal public art collection Place du Frère-André At the corner of Place Phillips and Boulevard René-Lévesque Ouest 95 Monument à Édouard VII, Louis-Philippe Hébert Monument à Édouard VII, 1914 Louis-Philippe Hébert Sculpture (bronze, granite) Montréal public art collection Square Phillips 96 Place monseigneur Charbonneau, Patrick Coutu Place monseigneur Charbonneau, 2005 Patrick Coutu Sculpture (aluminum, concrete, granite, marble, serpentine, stainless steel) Property of Ivanhoé Cambridge Place Ville Marie Boulevard Robert-Bourassa More than fifteen public artworks to be discovered on the McGill University campus. Image: The Three Bares (1913), Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney 817 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montréal, QC H3A 0C3 105 Give Peace a Chance, Linda Covit Give Peace a Chance, 2009 Linda Covit Installation (limestone, indigenous plants) Montréal public art collection Parc du Mont-Royal Monument à la reine Victoria, 1869 Marshall Wood Sculpture (bronze, granite) Square Victoria Montréal public art collection



8 views0 comments

Comments


Search activities